I want to write…

I recently found out I have ADHD. I want so badly to write, but every time the opportunity comes up I am at a loss. I feel like I’m wasting my time. ADHD has held me back in every aspect of my life. I’m only just realizing the impact it has had on me. I have not received any treatment yet.

I’m afraid of going on another medication. I’m already taking medication for depression and pain. The painkiller is a very moderate one, not very addictive at all, but still. It does have its side effects. I know medication is really one of the only things that can relieve ADHD symptoms and help you live a normal life.

The problem is that I’m a creative person, and I do think that’s in part due to the ADHD, but it also holds me back from actually DOING anything. I want to draw and paint, but I don’t get my brushes or pencils out. I pick up my phone and think it’s too difficult to do that and let myself be distracted by just about anything else. Even if I did go so far as to get the paper and tools, I still wouldn’t know what to do with them.

 

4 thoughts on “I want to write…

  1. I can totally feel what you’re going through. I too had gone through a very rough phase in my life. Due to that I was so frustrated and uninspired that I deleted my blog, my everything. I stopped making art. But after the course of 3 years, I’ve finally learned to deal with everything bravely. I’m coming back to life. And that’s just because I always made myself believe that nothing can stop me from pursuing my passions. You can too, overcome this block. Just stay focused, inspired and positive. You’ll feel a huge difference in the matter of days. Stay blessed. 🙂 xx 💖

    1. Thank you so much for your thoughtful reply. I feel like I’m going through something similar, perhaps I am “coming back to life” in a way, as I discover more about myself and why I am the way I am. ❤ to you!

  2. Hi. I was recently diagnosed ADHD at 38. I also live life with chronic pain…

    And was an avid writer 20 some years ago; in fact, wanted to make it my profession. My personal experience? I started medication for ADHD, and now it’s like a damn burst. I cannot STOP writing. Medication is working as it should – allowing me to focus, and truly identify and express my feelings.

    I hope you are able to put away the anxiety surrounding writing, be kind to yourself, and put the pen to paper. Looking forward to reading more of your writing! 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! I am hoping to find some medication and treatment that works for me, unfortunately I don’t have the best medical professionals helping me (they are always looking for something else it seems). I know best what I’m dealing with but it seems they just don’t want to listen! I am just trying to write as much as I can, anything and everything. Fanfiction, blogging, whatever. Thank you so so much for your encouragement. ❤

Leave a Reply

