I am 99.9% sure Usagi/Sailor Moon is ADHD.

One of my all time favourite childhood shows was Sailor Moon. Growing up in North America in the 90s you’re pretty much guaranteed that somebody  you knew was a big fan.

As I have recently learned I’m ADHD, and I’m re-watching the show in the original Japanese for nostalgia, and to really finish it off since the English dub never did release the 5th season. I am also watching a new version called Crystal. Anyhow, I have really been following the main character Usagi, whose alter ego is ***SPOILER ALERT **** Sailor Moon. She has all the same ADHD tendencies I do!

She was going through a list of all the things she wanted to be when she grew up, and I was like, hey, that’s still me. I can’t figure out what to do with my life because I am interested in too many things, hello! She’s temperamental, too. She loves her friends and cares about them deeply, but she’ll get into petty arguments and get emotional very easily. (Something that an ADHD girl shows symptoms of, instead of physical hyperactivity, is emotional hyper sensitivity. I’m learning as I go..)

Usagi is clumsy, she is always tripping and falling or bumping into things. Dropping stuff, you name it. Hey that’s me too!

Maybe I’m reaching? I don’t think it’s too far of a stretch to imagine she is, or is based off of a real life person who might be?

2 thoughts on “I am 99.9% sure Usagi/Sailor Moon is ADHD.

  1. Thank you for this… “(Something that an ADHD girl shows symptoms of, instead of physical hyperactivity, is emotional hyper sensitivity. I’m learning as I go..)”
    A reminder I need, daily. Thank you for your blog. I see the relation. Definitely not too far of a stretch 😊

Leave a Reply

